Time To Go Shopping!

As I was walking around Walmart today, I was reminded of my days before retirement. This would be the time of year I would traditionally purchase certain art supplies for my classroom. Just as December and January are good months to pick up calendars for classroom art visuals, (I talked about that here), July is the time to stalk up on art supplies for your arts integration program.  Stores like Walmart and office supply stores run specials on some basic art supplies to get people in the door. For example, today I saw Crayola Classic Markers, generally $3.99 a pack, for $.97 in Walmart. (Hint: Don’t get the washable markers. If the child’s work gets wet, the image disappears.) Office depot has Crayola colored pencils for $.50 a pack this week. Staples has a 24 pack of Crayola Crayons for $.50 this week. I realize you can get off brand art supplies inexpensively at the Dollar year round, but I’ve found, on these items, the quality isn’t there. Warning: Don’t go for the 2 pairs of scissors for $.50. I bought them one year and they broke halfway through the year. If these supplies aren’t already on your student’s supply list, I’d purchase 12 packs of markers, 6 packs of colored pencils and 6 packs of crayons. Elmer’s glue and glue sticks are often on special this time of year also. So, for around $25.00 you could get a nice little start on art supplies. Our PTA used to give us a nice little stipend at the beginning of the year and I’d pay myself back then. So, check out the ads in your area and see what kind of bargains you can find.

2 comments

  1. jennifer meyers · July 24

    I have always loved this time of year with the stores full of school supplies. I don’t know what it is about school supplies but even as a kid I could spend long stretches of time walking up and down the aisles looking at all the new pencils and markers. I don’t know why i found it so exciting but i still do!
    I work for the public library and I have tons of children’s book covers. We were just recycling them at work but they are so colorful with amazing art work on them that I hated not being able to find something to do with them. I use them for envelopes and wrapping paper but I have so many. If you or any of your readers would like to have them for their classroom or can think of another way to use them – I will gladly donate them. Just let me know!
    Thanks! I love reading your blog!
    jennifer
    ihearttexas8@gmail.com

    Like

  2. criscophebes · July 24

    Thanks! I love writing it.
    What a GREAT resource those covers are! They could be also be used for collages, mosaics, paper weavings, etc. For the classroom, they could be used for alphabetizing by title or author and sorting by subject. Do you have any for art books? Readers, let Jennifer know if you’d like some.

    Like

Leave a Reply

