Art Visuals For Your Classroom

So far on this blog, I’ve talked about using the internet and books to aid in your arts integration endeavors.  In addition, how about starting a collection of famous artwork visuals for your classroom?

Art calendars are a good and inexpensive place to start. It just so happens that this is the time of year people are buying new calendars and getting ready to discard the old ones. A perfect time to send a notice home with your students explaining that you are starting an art program in your classroom and requesting that they donate any old art calendars to the classroom. Free visuals!!!!  Also, this time of year the store, Five Below, has calendars for just $3. They are often calendars you’d find everywhere else for $12. A few years ago, I found the Page a Day Metropolitan Museum Calendar just that way. I love this calendar. It’s a gift of art everyday. Not having found it again, I’ve been buying the page a day calendar full price ever since. Anyway, it’s worth a look if you have a store close by. Lastly, at the end of January the bookstores and calendar kiosks sell their current calendars for 50% or more off.

Find some great uses for calendar visuals here:

Thirteen Ways to Reuse a Page-a-Day Art Calendar

and here:

http://www.onestopenglish.com/skills/integrated-skills/using-art-in-the-classroom/pdf-content/using-art-in-the-classroom-introduction/550073.article

I hope this post has been helpful. I would love to hear what you think and how you might use art visuals in your classroom. Simply highlight the title of this post and scroll down the comment section at the bottom of the page.

I hope you’ll stop by again soon!

3 comments

  1. Saunders · December 5, 2015

    Thanks for the inexpensive, great idea!
    I’m planning to have my kids create some acrylic art on canvases in early 2016. I can use the calendars for ideas for my students! Art they can touch!

    Like

    • criscophebes · December 5, 2015

      I’m so glad I could be of some help. Hope you’ll stop by my site again soon.

      Like

  2. Pingback: Time To Go Shopping! | OH THE ART PLACES WE CAN GO

Leave a Reply

